Arun Jaitley Stadium

Delhi: Arun Jaitley Stadium

Arun Jaitley Stadium



Opened 1883
Capacity 48000
Known as Feroz Shah Kotla, Willingdon Pavilion
Ends Stadium End, Pavilion End
Location Delhi, India
Time Zone UTC +05:30
Home to Delhi
Floodlights Yes

Indian Premier League 2020 matches scheduled at this venue

14:30 GMT DC vs KXIP, 2nd Match
14:30 GMT DC vs RCB, 14th Match
14:30 GMT DC vs CSK, 18th Match
10:30 GMT DC vs KKR, 24th Match
14:30 GMT DC vs SRH, 41st Match
14:30 GMT DC vs MI, 44th Match
14:30 GMT DC vs RR, 52nd Match


Interesting Records at Feroz Shah Kotla:

The stadium witnessed Anil Kumble’s famous 10/74 in an innings, against Pakistan in 1999. With these figures, Kumble became only the second bowler after Jim Laker to take all the ten wickets in an innings.

In 1983, Sunil Gavaskar scored his 29th Test ton at this venue, equalling Sir Donald Bradman’s record for the most number of centuries in Test cricket.

In 2005, Sachin Tendulkar went past Sunil Gavaskar’s record of 34 Test centuries, registering his 35th Test ton in the second Test against Sri Lanka at this venue.



Total matches 34
Matches won batting first 6
Matches won bowling first 13
Average 1st Inns scores 352
Average 2nd Inns scores 323
Average 3rd Inns scores 239
Average 4th Inns scores 173
Highest total recorded 644/8 (214 Ov) by WI vs IND
Lowest total recorded 75/10 (30.5 Ov) by IND vs WI


Total matches 25
Matches won batting first 12
Matches won bowling first 12
Average 1st Inns scores 234
Average 2nd Inns scores 212
Highest total recorded 330/8 (50 Ov) by WI vs NED
Lowest total recorded 115/10 (31.3 Ov) by NED vs WI
Highest score chased 281/4 (40.5 Ov) by IND vs SL
Lowest score defended 167/10 (43.4 Ov) by IND vs PAK


Total matches 6
Matches won batting first 3
Matches won bowling first 3
Average 1st Inns scores 156
Average 2nd Inns scores 145
Highest total recorded 202/3 (20 Ov) by IND vs NZ
Lowest total recorded 120/10 (19.3 Ov) by SL vs RSA
Highest score chased 159/3 (17.1 Ov) by ENG vs NZ
Lowest score defended 142/7 (20 Ov) by ENG vs AFG

Venue Description:

Home to the Delhi Ranji team and the Delhi Daredevils, the Feroz Shah Kotla, is the second oldest international cricket stadium in India. The stadium gets its name from its location. It is in the vicinity of the Feroz Shah Kotla, a fortress built by Sultan Feroz Shah Tughlaq. Having been established in 1883, the ground has undergone some heavy reconstruction over the years. Colloquially, the locals also call the stadium ‘Kotla’, which literally means citadel or fortress. The first international game here was a Test match between India and the West Indies in 1948.

The Feroz Shah Kotla has been a very happy hunting ground for the Indian cricket team. India won 7 successive Tests between 1993-2007. In fact, India have won 9 and drawn 1 of their last 10 Tests here. India last lost a Test match here way back in 1987, a game that saw India getting bowled out for 75 in the first innings. India’s ODI record at this stadium isn’t bad either. Since April 2005, they have won 6 games here and lost none; one game was cancelled and one was a no result. Their last ODI defeat at Kotla came against Pakistan, where the visitors won by a margin of 159 runs. The win helped Pakistan win the ODI series 4-2 after India had taken a 2-0 lead previously.